• Facebook - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

This is a practice for everyone, no matter the level of experience.


Ashtanga Yoga is the Yoga of the 8 limbs of yoga brought to us by Pantajali. The word 'ashta' means eight, and ' anga' limbs. These eight limbs are: yama (ethical codes), niyama ( personal observances), asana (the practice of postures), pranayama (the practice of breath control), pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses), dharana (sustained concentration), dhyana (uninterrupted meditation), samadhi (unity of consciousness). In this lineage we begin by practicing asana, as a means to establish physical health first. Once the body is healthy, we begin to cleanse the nervous system and progressively more towards rebalancing the more subtle functions of the internal body with the end goal to steady the mind. 

The practice of Ashtanga yoga is especially designed to repair, rejuvenate, and strengthen the system; it is made up of a series of postures threaded together in a specific order and linked into a fluid movement by breath. The postures are learned one by one and memorized. The same postures are repeated daily as a means to rest the mind on the breath rather than the movement itself. It is through the repetition that transformation and healing happens. The practice is traditionally practiced six days a week. The practice of Ashtanga Yoga is a therapeutic practice. Primary Series of Aṣhtanga yoga or yoga cikitsā means disease therapy. The Primary Series specifically focuses on healing as a preparation for higher levels of concentration. It is therapy for everyone, even for those who are in good health since it not only cures but also helps to maintain and revitalize the system at all levels.


 “Physical strength, mental strength, and the strength of the sense organs—all these are very important. Without them, one cannot attain spiritual strength…body and mind are inseparably linked, one to the other. If pleasure and pain are experienced by either the physical body or the sense organs, the mind will experience them as well…to learn how to achieve such concentration the body must first be purified and then mental strength developed. The method for purifying and strengthening the body is called āsana …” Excerpt from the 'Yoga Mala' book.

* Helps to maintain and revitalize the system at all levels

* Improves flexibility

*Increases strength

* Increases the strength of the digestive fire

* Removes toxins

* Overall health of the main organs of the body

*Reduces body bat

*Reduces stress & anxiety

*Increases focus & creativity

*Lowers blood pressure

* Prevents injuries

* Increases stamina

* Increases muscle tone

*The repetition of postures improves my muscle memory.

* Emotional balance

* Tones the muscles in the lower abdomen and pelvic floor,

* Realigns of the musculoskeletal system 

* You see the growth, changes and transformation

* Detailed instructions from the teacher

* Discipline

* Physical challenge

* A demand for deep concentration

* Sweating

* Inward journey

* Patience & Frustration

* Being reminded there’s always room for improvement


**No knowledge of the sequence is necessary to begin.

**Beginners will learn parts of the primary series incrementally, with new postures being slowly and deliberately added over time. 

**I encourage new students to observe a session and/or speak to me.

**Allow 30 minutes to 1 hour for practice. The duration of one’s practice will lengthen as new postures are added.

**In order to properly memorize the sequence, it is highly recommended that beginners practice a minimum of three times per week. *